Dr. Connie Hebert helps kids, parents, and teachers by helping them become experts at catching "the teachable minute" anytime, anywhere! My Teachable Minute Blog offers quick tips on how to engage with younger and older kids. Comments, questions, and reflections are always welcome . . . let's catch a million teachable minutes together!

PEACE . . .

PEACE . . .
from Dr. Connie Hebert
National Literacy Consultant & Author

Dear Colleagues,

We are all united in our sadness, horror, and human desire to make sense of something we cannot possibly imagine. As a first grade teacher, Mom, and Grandmom, my heart is crying for every heart that suffered, hid, crawled, feared, screamed, died . . . and survived. I am reminded of my very first classroom in 1979, filled with 32 precious toothless little 1st graders . . . all crying and hugging me on the last day of school because we had to say ‘goodbye.’ I am reminded of my beautiful Preschoolers, Kindergarteners, 2nd graders, 4th graders, Reading Recovery kids, and remedial reading kids. I am reminded of all the administrators, principals, school secretaries, custodians, assistants, and teacher colleagues all over the country whom I’ve had the privilege of working with in an effort to help kids become independent, successful readers and writers. I am reminded . . .

None of us can comprehend how this could have happened, or why. However, we can unite in protecting children, in helping them process this tragedy, and in counseling young teachers who have only just begun their journey. Let us search for books and stories about heroes that will inspire, motivate, and heal…
 

If you would lift me up you must be on higher ground. -Ralph Waldo Emerson

 
May we seek quiet moments to reflect on the many children we have taught and loved, to recall colleagues we have labored with, and to count blessings that surround us.

 May all who live and work in a nest called Newtown be comforted and healed in due time . . .

 I wish you Peace, Hope, and the greatest of all, Love.

Connie

Dr. Connie Hebert
Dr. Connie Hebert, National Literacy Consultant/Author
www.conniehebert.com
Comments on: "PEACE . . ." (2)

  1. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email.
    I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it grow over time.

Leave a Reply

